Eventful as always

My week in Buenos Aires relaxing. I caught up with friends, I enjoyed the atmosphere, I explored parts I hadn’t seen yet. It really is my favourite city in South America. However it wouldn’t be me if there wasn’t some drama, and on the last night the world delivered.

I was at the hostel bar about to go out and grab a quick, final beer before crashing out – early flight the next morning – when a British girl behind me slipped and fell. Phone in one hand and glass of wine in the other, she did not act to slow her fall at all, wearing the full force of the impact on her right temple. I don’t have a huge amount but I have some medical training – and more importantly seemed to be the least drunk – so had the pleasure of taking care of her till the ambulance arrived. Fractured eye socket, concussion, massive swelling; quite a sight.

She also didn’t speak any Spanish – or even remember her name for the first 5 minutes to be honest – so I got to accompany her to Hospital and translate for the next 2-3 hours. What a night, hopefully Santiago – my final destination – isn’t eventful in the same manner.

Leave a Reply

